Refreshing My Soul

I just returned home from church where my soul was renewed and refreshed. Not because of the worship music or pastor’s sermon, in fact, my wife and I rarely have the chance to attend service with the rest of our church’s congregation. We volunteer as leaders for a small group for adults with special needs (if we don’t do it, who will?) so for us to hear the sermon, we must listen to it later in the week. But, I digress.

The reason my soul was renewed and refreshed was because of the time I spent with our class and, then afterwards, the time I spent in the classroom for children with special needs. Our class made Easter cards for family and friends, including the senior pastor and his wife. While they were making their cards, my wife was reading aloud about the life of D. L. Moody, which is inspiring me with my passion for special needs ministry. We closed our class and walked to the classroom for children with special needs so we could pick up our son like we do every week. There were several children in the room this week and I had the pleasure of interacting with each of them.

I got to dance with the most amazing girl who has an infectious smile.

I got to spin a sweet boy who giggled and laughed while we were spinning.

I got down on my hands and knees with another precious boy who smiled as we crawled around and would stop to look right in my eyes.

I couldn’t stop smiling during each of my interactions. I wonder if how I felt is how Jesus feels when we spend time with Him.

I watched other adults (volunteers who don’t have a child with special needs) interact with each of these children. These volunteers made the children feel like they were the most important person in the world. The adults were beaming and the children were ecstatic.

Instead of hearing about Jesus today at church, I saw Him through the volunteers and individuals with special needs.

I Corinthians 16:18 (ESV) “for they refreshed my spirit as well as yours. Give recognition to such people.”

3 thoughts on “Refreshing My Soul

Add yours

  1. Such a good reminder that we put His love on display most winsomely with our acts of love toward others. Thanks for choosing to write about this during this season when we celebrate Jesus’ act of sacrificial love.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

