Stay Daddy, Stay!

These three little words are the most bittersweet words I hear on a regular basis. A few times a week my son wraps his arms around me, pulls me into his ear closely, and says…

“STAY DADDY, STAY!”

His words are sincere.

His hug is strong and real.

His desire for me to stay home with him and not go to work is genuine.

My heart aches every time he makes his plea!

I have spent most of his young life at work, whether I was working at a Christian school or at my own small business. Early on in his life, I threw myself into my career as a school principal. I spent every day of the week focusing on other people’s children and believed it was my “ministry” to God; after all it was at a Christian school. I went to work very early in the morning and would return home late at night, so I didn’t spend a lot of time with my son during those early years.

I wish I could go back and re-live those years! I would do things much differently.

Now, as a small business owner, I still work long days. My business is open Monday through Saturday, so I only take off one day a week. This means, I still spend more time helping other people and their children, while sacrificing time with my own son. Even though I am not spending as much time with my son as I would like, I make sure I thoroughly enjoy every minute I am with him. I hope my business will one day be successful enough that I can take more time off to spend with my son.

“Stay Daddy, Stay!”

This phrase is not just a plea from my son wanting to spend more time with me; it is also reflects my heart’s desire to be with him as much as possible.

“Stay Daddy, Stay!”

His words break my heart every time I hear them, but I also rejoice. I rejoice because, at 14, he longs to spend time with his daddy AND for the longest time it was a struggle for him to connect with anyone. His desire for me to stay with him means we have connected!

I work hard now, so that one day I can…

“Stay Daddy, Stay!”

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

