It’s Not the Healing that Matters

During a recent service at the church I attend, one of our worship pastors read Matthew 15:29-31. He focused on the reaction of the people when Jesus healed the lame, blind, crippled, and others. The people were “amazed” and they “praised the God of Israel”. I think I would have been amazed and praising God too, if I had been there when this happened. Unfortunately, I believe churches miss a more important point from this passage and other passages where Jesus heals people with disabilities.

The focus of these passages seems to be on Jesus’ ability to heal and the resulting amazement from those in attendance. When I read Matthew 9:2, Matthew 15:29-31, and Mark 2:3-12 I focus on the people who brought the lame, blind, crippled, and others to Jesus. I am amazed at the faith of those bringing individuals with disabilities to Jesus because they knew everyone needed Jesus.

Should I take my son to church every Sunday with my fingers crossed thinking that maybe this week Jesus will heal him from his autism, restore his vision, or restore his hearing?

No!

I take my son to church every Sunday because I want him to see the love of Jesus through the people he comes in contact with at church.

I know God can heal my son of all of his disabilities, but if He chooses not to, I will still praise and worship Him!

Churches take the Gospel message to countries that don’t speak English and they use an interpreter or learn the language so the message is clear to those hearing it. Maybe we need an interpreter to help us reach individuals with special needs. Maybe we need to love them the way Jesus loves us and those with special needs.

The Gospel message is for everyone and we, sinners, should not exclude ministering to someone because we don’t believe they have the ability to fully understand the message. Our job is to present the Gospel and share the love of Jesus. The Holy Spirit and Word of God will do the rest. “So shall my word be that goes out from my mouth; it shall not return to me empty, but it shall accomplish that which I purpose, and shall succeed in the thing for which I sent it.” Isaiah 55:11 (ESV)

I want to be a Christian who brings individuals with special needs to Jesus.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

